10 must-have authors like Colleen Hoover

0

This content contains affiliate links. When you purchase through these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

It’s no secret that Colleen Hoover has landed on the bestseller list time and time again over the past decade. Many pick up his books and can’t stop until they’ve finished them all. When they do, they go looking for other authors like her. If that sounds like you, you might be wondering exactly what you should choose next. Well, here are 10 authors like Colleen Hoover that you can immediately pick up and devour.

Now, if you’re looking for authors like Colleen Hoover, you might also be looking for a range of genres since she writes in a few. You might like its YA and New Adult romance, its psychological thrillers, and, to borrow a phrase from Book Riot’s When in Romance podcast, its domestic fiction. His books have always done well, but there’s no denying the effect TikTok has had on boosting Hoover’s list sales. His fans, affectionately known as the CoHorts, love his books, even if they make them cry, and it shows in his sales.

You may be hopeless, and you’re not without merit for feeling like maybe someday, maybe now, you might be able to find other authors like Colleen Hoover. When it comes to recommending books like Colleen Hoover, there’s a small difference between recommending books like It ends with us and books like Truth. I admit that this list of readings similar to Colleen Hoover is not complete. Yet it contains other authors who address big emotions, messy interpersonal situations, and heartbreaking, life-altering plot points in their novels.

The best authors like Colleen Hoover

Courtney Milan

Courtney Milan’s Cyclone series is perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover’s new adult books like Slammed. The Cyclone series centers on Cyclone Technologies, a billion-dollar Silicon Valley technology company led by founder and CEO Adam Reynolds, whose partner recently passed away. Now that his son, Blake, is old enough, he has begun to take on more responsibility in the business he will one day inherit. In college, he meets Tina Chen—who struggles to pay rent, send money home, and attend classes—and ends up swapping lifestyles. Each book in Courtney Milan’s series contains all the unexpected twists, unsettling family relationships, and messy characters you’d do anything to protect that you’d expect to find in a Colleen Hoover book.

Book cover of The Hate Project by Kris Ripper

Kris Ripper

The characters in many, if not all, of Colleen Hoover’s books often balance their day-to-day struggles with their mental health issues, so naturally Kris Ripper came to mind. Ze isn’t afraid to place queer protagonists with mental health issues at the center of the Zir novels. While there are many books I can pick from Kris Ripper’s backlog, The Hate Project is the perfect place to start. Oscar is anxious, and when he’s fired from his answering job, which often makes matters worse, he’s given the option of professionally clearing out a house instead. Even if it’s for a man he constantly bickers with, argues with and bonds with. Kris Ripper might just have the Colleen Hoover reading you’ve been looking for if you need a romance book with significant emotional range.

Hot Under His Collar by Andie J Christopher Book Cover

Andie J. Christopher

Andie J. Christopher must be one of the queens of unlovable female leads in contemporary romance. Of course, she came to mind immediately when I came up with a list of authors like Colleen Hoover, a woman known for her own unlikable protagonists in books like November 9th. One of Andie J. Christopher’s unlikable female leads even falls for unavailable men like the local priest in Hot Under His Collar. Although her books tend to be a bit funnier, her characters won’t disappoint fans of Colleen Hoover’s books.

Book cover of When No One Is Watching by Alyssa Cole

Alyssa Cole

If you were a fan of Colleen Hoover’s move into the romantic psychological thriller space with Verity, Alyssa Cole is the author for you. More specifically, his thriller, When No One Is Watching, is a psychological thriller that answers the question: where do the people of the neighborhood go when gentrification drives them away? Hoover’s book takes the reader through the unsettling research behind the life of one person, not a neighborhood like Cole’s. However, the slow and disturbing revelations that develop over the documents and stories of the two books are sure to captivate you.

Alisha Rai's Hate to Want You book cover

Alisha Rai

Alisha Rai is an author who delivers complicated romantic relationships over and over again. If you’ve read Reminders of Him and were drawn to the forbidden relationship, Alisha Rai’s books might be for you. The Forbidden Hearts series has a Romeo and Juliet-style star-crossed lovers book (Hate to Want You), a “he was my brother-in-law but now I love him” romance (Wrong To Need You), and the romance of a big brother’s friend (Hurts To Love You). All three books live up to the forbidden title and if the secrets don’t capture your heart, the romance surely will.

Book cover of The Bride Test by Helen Hoang

Helen Hoang

Helen Hoang is a legendary writer who centers autistic protagonists in her novels and domestic fiction. Readers of Colleen Hoover’s books will love how she works through romantic setups that seem doomed from the start, like the arranged marriage in Hoang’s The Bride Test. If you can persevere and cry through a Colleen Hoover book, you’ll love being emotionally devastated by Helen Hoang.

Fumbled by Alexa Martin Book Cover

Alexa Martin

If you liked Reminders of Him former footballers, you’ll love Alexa Martin. While the Playbooks series as a whole would be a great place to start, Fumbled by Alexa Martin has a plot where a child is introduced to his biological father and hits similar emotional beats to Colleen Hoover’s book. Alexa Martin’s books are inspired by her experience as a professional writer married to a former professional footballer. She writes about the real issues people face when trying to balance the professional, romantic, and platonic lives they create for themselves based on their unique life experiences.

Cover of the book Just Like That by Cole Mccade

Cole McCade

Cole McCade has a long list of queer romance, sci-fi, fantasy, and horror books that will hit all the right notes for CoHorts Everywhere. I would specifically like to draw your attention to his queer romance novels like his Albin Academy series, where teachers at a private high school deal with dangerous secrets and even more dangerous romances. Her writing style is emotionally driven, where the reader feels as if they are experiencing the emotional states of the characters alongside her. In Just Like That, “Her heart felt like it was going to burst, the walls worn like paper and ready to shatter.” Simply put, when I read Colleen Hoover’s writings, her paragraphs remind me of Cole McCade.

Book cover of One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston

Casey McQuiston

When I think of Colleen Hoover’s many hot messes in her twenties, I can’t help but think of Casey McQuiston. Their work tends to have more jokes and fan references, but its characters, more often than not, have a tragedy that makes me say “oh honey, no” at some point in the reading experience. A classic example is the tragic revelations of a woman reflecting on her teenage detective education in One Last Stop. Colleen Hoover fans who love epistolary chapters will also be happy to find McQuiston’s emails, letters and notes. Sad twenties vibes were reached in both bodies of work.

It ends with this set of authors like Colleen Hoover

Once you’ve finished all those authors like Colleen Hoover, you might need another specific book recommendation. Book Riot’s Bespoke Book Recommendation Service, or TBR, is a book recommendation service that pairs you with a qualified book enthusiast to find you your next stack of expert-selected books. TBR’s librarians help any reader looking for any type of book to identify the right one for them. All you have to do is pick up your next book and read it.

a gif with the text: Bespoke Book Recommendations: Real book nerds make bespoke recommendations that are really, really good
Share.

Comments are closed.